Beaver Island Head Light

1851

LAKE MICHIGAN LIGHTS

USCG PHOTO

HOME

Years later after this light was built, a second, two-story wooden structure was added to the original building.

LOCATION: On the south end of Beaver Island /Mackinac Straits approach, NE end of Lake Michigan

CURRENT TOWER LIT: 1858

CURRENT USE: Environmental Education Facility operated by Charlevoix Public Schools

AUTOMATED: Yes

DEACTIVATED: 1962 --- the USCG constructed a radio beacon here and removed the lens from the tower.

FOUNDATION MATERIALS: Reinforced concrete

LIGHTHOUSE MATERIALS: Milwaukee brick

TOWER SHAPE: Cylindrical --- 40ft. tall

COLOR(S)/MARKINGS/PATTERN: Cream

ORIGINAL LENS: Fourth Order, Fresnel 1870

NEAT CHARACTERISTICS: This light sits on a bluff overlooking the lake and provides a breathtaking view of the water below.