Ludington North Breakwater Light

1870

LAKE MICHIGAN LIGHTS

USCG PHOTO

HOME

The Pere Marquette River was named for the French missionary who died here, but the town of Ludington was named for its developer, James Ludington, who was in the lumber business.

LOCATION: Near outer end of breakwater, Pere Marquette Harbor, E side of Lake Michigan

CURRENT TOWER LIT: 1924

CURRENT USE: Active to aid navigation

AUTOMATED: 1972

FOUNDATION MATERIALS: Pier

LIGHTHOUSE MATERIALS: Steel and reinforced concrete

TOWER SHAPE: Square pyramidal --- 57ft. tall

COLOR(S)/MARKINGS/PATTERN: White with black lantern

ORIGINAL LENS: Originally had a Sixth Order, Fresnel 1870 (Light List, 1893) / Now has Fourth Order, Fresnel (Light List, 1954)

NEAT CHARACTERISTICS: The Light List of 1893 indicates that this light had "an elevated walk along pier to shore" (a catwalk), but no evidence of that exists now. Also, the unique structure of the base of this light resembles the bow of a ship and is designed to withstand the giant waves that frequently pound this light station.